• Welcome to the 2017-2018 school year.

    Thank you for visiting this section of our web site. We hope that you find the information you are looking for. We will update our website as  new information becomes available.
     

    Parent Teacher Organization

    Organización de Padres y Maestros

     

    The purpose of this organization is to: 

    1. Support the education of children at Foreign Language Academy. 
    2. Provide financial assistance where needs are identified. 
    3. Foster relationships among the school, parents, and teachers.

    Keep in contact:

    EMAIL - Sign up to receive FLA Shines PTO emails with news, reminders, and volunteer opportunities.  

    BLOG - Read meeting minutes, get this year's meeting dates, PTO board contact information, and reminders.

    FACEBOOK - Like and share PTO and FLA news, announcements and reminders.

    Friends of Foreign Language Academy 

    FACEBOOK GROUP - Ask questions or chat with other FLA parents and teachers.

    BULLETIN BOARD - Check the board outside the gym by parent pickup for announcements and volunteer opportunities. 

     

    2017-2018 FLA PTO Meetings


    August 24 – Board Meeting at 5pm, General Meeting 6pm
    September 26 - General Meeting at 4:30pm
    October 26 – General Meeting at 6pm
    November 14 – Board Meeting at 5pm, General Meeting 6pm
    December – No Meeting
    January 18 - Board meeting at 5pm, General Meeting 6pm
    February 20 - General Meeting at 4:30pm
    March 22 – General Meeting 6pm
    April 17 - Board meeting at 5pm,  General meeting at 6pm
    May 10 - General Meeting at 6pm

    2017-2018 PTO Executive Board Members

    If you wish to send an email to the entire board, you can send it to: fla-pto-board-2017-2018@googlegroups.com. If you wish to contact individual board members, contact information is below:

    President: Lisa Gooden    mamagooden@gmail.com  816-204-0905
    Vice-President: Rocio Lopez    rocioterriquez@hotmail.com 816-935-2585
    Secretary: Melissa Velazquez  melissa.velaz@gmail.com 913-620-4768
    Treasurer: Stacy Viveros-Schmidt   stacyviveros@gmail.com 913-269-1779
    Principal: Joell Ramsdell  jramsdel@kcpublicschools.org 816-418-6000

    Teacher Representative(s) : Anabel Vargas  avargas@kcpublicschools.org 816-418-6000

    LINC Representative: Sherry Harold sharold@kclinc.org  816-418-6076

    Parent Grade Level Representatives:

    Kindergarten      Melissa Hazely mpatterson.hazley@gmail.com 816-908-4551
    Kindergarten      Susan Eason  seasonsde61@gmail.com 816-820-9561
    Kindergarten      Hubert Bradley hueb.skmo@icloud.com

    1st Grade      Patti Sosa prsosa@gmail.com 816-810-4083
    1st Grade      Precious Felton precious.felton@gmail.com 816-853-9251

    2nd Grade      Tami Barr tamitbarr@gmail.com 816-679-5626
    2nd Grade      Kelly Thompson  kellythompson816@gmail.com

    3rd Grade     Open
    3rd Grade     Open

    4th Grade    Maxine Williams maxine.williams2@icloud.com 816-260-1506
    4th Grade    Sara Beth Burton sbrichard@gmail.com 816-500-3872
    4th Grade    Amy Carlson carlson.amy.rose@gmail.com 913-593-7479

    5th Grade    Michelle Comtois  michelle_comtois@yahoo.com 816-810-8831
    5th Grade    Amber Christman hairbyamberjune@gmail.com 816-682-9423

    6th Grade    Rocio Lopez rocioterriquez@hotmail.com 816-935-2585
    6th Grade    Thomas Paul Hardy globalcutts@gmail.com 816-612-0466
    6th Grade    Veronica Paez vpaez2020@gmail.com 816-204-0574

    7th Grade    Rebecca Glaser rebeccalynnglaser@yahoo.com 816-668-2165
    7th Grade    Luz Saenz 816-499-9084

    8th Grade    Tyvette Washington yochiefs@yahoo.com 816-299-1322
    8th Grade    Elizabeth Fuller eafuller@outlook.com 816-898-8040

     

     
    You may download a copy of our Parent Handbook 2017-2018  here.


    If you would like to share any school related news, you may "Submit a Story"!

    At this point, we would appreciate if you would review this area and use the parent form to submit new information.

    We truly appreciate that you are taking the time to make our parent section the best it can be.