• Diploma Failing Conditions 


    A candidate will not qualify for the award of the diploma if certain requirements have not been met.

     The following codes indicate which requirements have not been met.
    1. CAS requirements have not been met.
    2. Candidate’s total points are fewer than 24.
    3. An “N” has been given for theory of knowledge, extended essay or for a contributing subject.
    4. A grade E has been awarded for one or both of theory of knowledge and the extended essay.
    5. There is a grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
    6. Grade 2 has been awarded three or more times (HL or SL).
    7. Grade 3 or below has been awarded four or more times (HL or SL).
    8. Candidate has gained fewer than 12 points on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count).
    9. Candidate has gained fewer than 9 points on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).


     Diploma Points Matrix 



    The Core is required and includes the CAS program, Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay.  The Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge are marked based on letter grades and are crossed on the matrix below to provide a combined point score of up to 3 points.  Incomplete CAS programs or inadequate work on the Extended Essay or in Theory of Knowledge will result in the failure of the IB Diploma.  In the case of a student receiving an E in either the Extended Essay or TOK, he/she is required to earn a minimum of 28 points (rather than 24) in order to receive the IB Diploma.


    The IB Matrix is used to determine the number of points earned from TOK and the EE:
    The maximum number of points a student can earn is 45.  (7 x 6 subjects = 42 + 3 from EE/TOK).