Skip To Main Content
KCPS NEWS
Blueprint 2030: Help KCPS Set Goals for the Future

We’re asking staff members, students, parents/guardians and others to join us in providing feedback by participating in our Thoughtexchange platform. This is an opportunity for our stakeholders to offer their responses to questions about the future of our schools.

Celebrate Our 2021 School Teachers of the Year

The 2021 Kansas City Public Schools Teacher of the Year Recognition Program honors the educators who structure their classrooms to increase performance and provide exceptional experiences, no matter what.

KCPS Board of Education (BOE)

Families who applied for kindergarten, pre-K or a Signature School by the initial deadline of Monday, Feb. 15, received emails Wednesday, March 3 with offers to their first, second or third choice school.

Zoom Across America

The Greater Kansas City Links Chapter is partnering with school systems across the metro to host Zoom reading sessions for kindergarten - third grade students in honor of Read Across America Week, the nation’s largest celebration of reading.

Board of Directors

Board of Directors 2020

On behalf of the Kansas City Public School (KCPS) Board of Directors, welcome to the Office of Board Services webpage. We are pleased you have taken the time to learn more about your School Board.

KCPS is guided by a seven-member Board of Directors elected by the district's patrons. The Board of Directors has many duties including:

  • Governance
  • Monitoring the use of financial and human resources
  • Education planning and evaluation
  • Appointing the chief administrator, the Superintendent of Schools
  • Facilities management

The Office of Board Services is the administrative arm of the Board of Directors. The Board meets on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Board of Education building.To meet individual Board members or to learn more about upcoming meetings and activities, contact the Office of Board Services at 816-418-7621.

 

Speaking at a Board Meeting

  • Video: Record a video of your comments that are no more than three minutes long and email the recording to School Board Secretary June Kolkmeier at board@kcpublicschools.org
  • Livestream: Reserve a spot to share your comments via the hearing live-stream by calling Ms. Kolkmeier at 816-418-7621 or emailing board@kcpublicschools.org
  • Email: Comments can be emailed to board@kcpublicschools.org
  • Phone: Contact Ms. Kolkmeier at 816-418-7621 or board@kcpublicschools.org to make a reservation to share comments by phone during the hearing
  • Text: Comments can also be texted to 816-213-0997

School Board Meetings

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Mar 28
Mon, Mar 29
Wed, Mar 31
Special Board Meeting - CLOSED
Phone Conference
Thu, Apr 1
Fri, Apr 2
Sat, Apr 3
Sun, Apr 4
Mon, Apr 5
Tue, Apr 6
Wed, Apr 7
Thu, Apr 8
Fri, Apr 9
Sat, Apr 10
Sun, Apr 11
Mon, Apr 12
Tue, Apr 13
Special Board Meeting CANCELLED
Virtually on Microsoft Teams
Wed, Apr 14
School Board Workshop Meeting
Board of Education or Virtual
Thu, Apr 15
Special Board Meeting
Board of Education Building, 2901 Troost, KCMO
Fri, Apr 16
Sat, Apr 17
Sun, Apr 18
Mon, Apr 19
Thu, Apr 22
Fri, Apr 23
Sat, Apr 24
Sun, Apr 25
Mon, Apr 26
Tue, Apr 27
Wed, Apr 28
Subscribe to Alerts School Board Regular Meeting
-
Board of Education, 2901 Troost Ave., KCMO 64109
Thu, Apr 29
Fri, Apr 30
Sat, May 1

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • School Board Meetings
    • School Board Meeting
    • Ad Hoc Committee Meeting
Board of Directors with Dr. Bedell