Skip To Main Content
KCPS NEWS
Charlie Hustle T-shirt Design Contest

Kansas City Public Schools has partnered with Charlie Hustle to develop a unique line of KCPS shirts for sale to the public. One of the designs for this line will be an original design from a KCPS student!  

Board Districts as of 2021

The Kansas City Election Board has been designated by statute to serve as the redistricting commission for Kansas City Public Schools. The Board of Commissioners, sitting as the redistricting commission, is responsible to redistrict the Kansas City Public School Board of Directors subdistricts based on the results of the 2020 Census. This meeting went over current maps with population changes presented to gather feedback for development of sample maps.

Board Districts as of 2021

The Kansas City Election Board has been designated by statute to serve as the redistricting commission for Kansas City Public Schools. The Board of Commissioners, sitting as the redistricting commission, is responsible to redistrict the Kansas City Public School Board of Directors subdistricts based on the results of the 2020 Census. This meeting presented 5 sample maps to the public.

School Board 2021

Learn more about the redistricting process being lead by the Kansas City Election Board.

Board of Directors

School Board 2021

On behalf of the Kansas City Public School (KCPS) Board of Directors, welcome to the Office of Board Services webpage. We are pleased you have taken the time to learn more about your School Board.

KCPS is guided by a seven-member Board of Directors elected by the district's patrons. The Board of Directors has many duties including:

  • Governance
  • Monitoring the use of financial and human resources
  • Education planning and evaluation
  • Appointing the chief administrator, the Superintendent of Schools
  • Facilities management

The Office of Board Services is the administrative arm of the Board of Directors. The Board meets on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Board of Education building.To meet individual Board members or to learn more about upcoming meetings and activities, contact the Office of Board Services at 816-418-7621.

Board redistricting

Redistricting Maps available by email to KCPSredistricting@KCEB.org or on KCEB.org website.

Redistricting Schedule

  • Friday, October 15 - Current maps with population changes presented to public and gather feedback to develop 5 sample maps - Recorded Meeting
  • Thursday, October 21 - Present 5 sample maps to public - Recorded Meeting
  • Monday, November 1 - All maps are due by midnight
  • Tuesday, November 2 - Final 3 maps presented to public
  • Friday, November 12 (12 pm) - Final map vote by KCEB

Speaking at a Board Meeting

  • Video: Record a video of your comments that are no more than three minutes long and email the recording to School Board Secretary June Kolkmeier at board@kcpublicschools.org
  • Livestream: Reserve a spot to share your comments via the hearing live-stream by calling Ms. Kolkmeier at 816-418-7621 or emailing board@kcpublicschools.org
  • Email: Comments can be emailed to board@kcpublicschools.org
  • Phone: Contact Ms. Kolkmeier at 816-418-7621 or board@kcpublicschools.org to make a reservation to share comments by phone during the hearing
  • Text: Comments can also be texted to 816-213-0997

School Board Meetings

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Sep 26
Mon, Sep 27
Tue, Sep 28
Wed, Sep 29
Thu, Sep 30
Fri, Oct 1
Sat, Oct 2
Sun, Oct 3
Mon, Oct 4
Tue, Oct 5
Wed, Oct 6
Special Board Workshop
2901 Troost Ave
Thu, Oct 7
Fri, Oct 8
Sat, Oct 9
Sun, Oct 10
Mon, Oct 11
Tue, Oct 12
Wed, Oct 13
School Board Workshop Meeting
Board of Education Building, 2901 Troost, KCMO
Thu, Oct 14
Fri, Oct 15
Sat, Oct 16
Sun, Oct 17
Mon, Oct 18
Tue, Oct 19
Wed, Oct 20
Thu, Oct 21
Fri, Oct 22
Sat, Oct 23
Sun, Oct 24
Mon, Oct 25
Tue, Oct 26
Fri, Oct 29
Sat, Oct 30
Sun, Oct 31
Mon, Nov 1
Tue, Nov 2
Wed, Nov 3
Thu, Nov 4
Fri, Nov 5
Sat, Nov 6

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • School Board Meetings
    • School Board Meeting
    • Ad Hoc Committee Meeting
Board of Directors with Dr. Bedell