Skip To Main Content
KCPS NEWS

Child Nutrition

Child Nutrition Hub & School Menus

Click the button below to visit our Child Nutrition Hub. This includes links for school menus, menu app, food programs, necessary forms and more!

Child Nutrition Hub

Mission

Serving up a great day from the kitchen to the classroom.

Vision 

Every student every day is prepared to learn when they are nourished. 

Additionally, the Department of Child Nutrition: 

  • Developed a Wellness Policy that is focused on improving the health of students. The policy was developed by the health and wellness advisory council that includes teachers, parents, administrators, and the district nurse.
  • Continues to share the message of nutrition and wellness via our department’s website that emphasizes the importance of nutrition and fitness.
  • Provides information on the nutrition and fitness for teachers, parents, and students, as well as, a variety of learning tools.
  • Identifies student needs and wants and works diligently to fulfill such requests.

Office of Child Nutrition 

The Office of Child Nutrition is responsible for making sure every student has access to nutritious meals at school, while removing any impediments and/or barriers to a child’s access to food. We strongly believe providing students with nutritious meals throughout the day has a positive effect on the outcome of their day. 

Additionally, the Office of Child Nutrition 

  • Provides catering through our catering Chef, who can provide you with an assortment of dishes or work with any special requests.
  • Provides top of the line training for all new employees in hopes of a smooth transition to our team.
  • Provides nutrition education training and creative activities that inspire students to develop healthy eating habits.

Office Programs and Initiatives   

  1. To ensure we exude excellent customer service to all customers.
  2. We play a vital role in cultivating a focused learning environment for our students by serving quality, nutritious meals.
  3. We strive to provide our team members with the training, tools, resources, and environment to be successful in reaching our goals.
Board of Education

Staff Members and Contact Info

Chon Walters
DIRECTOR FOOD SERVICE
816-418-7011
Cell 816-914-1200
cwalters@kcpublicschools.org

Ashton Ibarra, RD, LD
ASST DIRECTOR CHILD NUTRITION DEPT
816-418-7017
Cell 816-213-1756
aibarra@kcpublicschools.org

Talisha Archie
FS AREA SUPERVISOR-CHILD NUTR
816-418-7758
Cell 816-729-5467
tarchie@kcpublicschools.org

Quiana Williams
FS AREA SUPERVISOR-CHILD NUTR
816-418-7436
Cell 816-301-1408 qwilliams@kcpublicschools.org

Karleigh Sudenga, MS, RD, LD
FS SUPERVISOR/DIETICIAN
816-418-7341
Cell 816-213-2852
ksudenga@kcpublicschools.org

Myleia Maines
FS AREA SUPERVISOR-CHILD NUTR
816-418-8835
mmaines@kcpublicschools.org

Quasha Barbee
FS AREA SUPERVISOR-CHILD NUTR|
816-418-7452
qbarbee@kcpublicschools.org

Karen Claussen
FS NUTRITION OFFICE & FINANCIAL TECH
816-418-8830
kclausse@kcpublicschools.org

Juston Brewster
I.T SUPPORT SPECIALIST
816-418-7733
Cell 816-547-1823
jbrewster@kcpublicschools.org

Manny Alipio
FOOD SVC CATERING CHEF/MGR
816-418-7700
Cell 8165225355
malipio@kcpublicschools.org