Skip To Main Content
KCPS NEWS
KCPS orchestra students perform at the KCPS Fine Arts Showcase on Thursday, April 28, 2022.

"In schools, children need to have a place of belonging. They need to know they're accepted. They have to find their niche, that thing they’re good at,” said KCPS Deputy Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Collier.

Five people stand in the KCPS boardroom. They are smiling as one receives an award.

At the Wednesday, March 9, 2022, Board of Education meeting, three KCPS employees were recognized as “Terrific Teammates” for their contributions to their school communities.

A banner showing smiling children with the words "Enroll now for fall!"

Current KCPS students will automatically “roll up” to the next grade, and no action is required from parents/guardians at this time. Please do not submit an application for new enrollment, as this will cause processing delays.

A graphic of students attending schools wearing masks.

With guidance from our trusted community health partners, the Kansas City Public Schools Board of Directors and administration agreed on Wednesday, March 9, 2022, to end our mask mandate, effective immediately.

students in a bright, colorful classroom work on computers

On Jan. 29, 2022, 42 students from East High School, Lincoln College Prep and Lincoln Middle School competed against students from four other districts and three charter schools in the 2022 PREP-KC Math Relays. KCPS won 41 of 98 awards!

Curriculum, Instruction and Professional Development

Curriculum Coordinators

K-2 ELA Sara Hoenshell
shoenshe@kcpublicschools.org
Megan Mitchell
mmcweeney@kcpublicschools.org
3-6 ELA Chelsea Millar
cmillar@kcpublicschools.org
 
Secondary ELA Chris Odam
codam@kcpublischools.org
 
Elementary Math Sherry Eastin
seastin@kcpublicschools.org
Philomina Lawson
plawson@kcpublicschools.org
Secondary Math Marcelina Lerios
mlerios@kcpublicschools.org
 
K-12 Science Jessica Power
jtague@kcpublicschools.org
 
Secondary Social Studies Bonnie Shea
bshea@kcpublicschools.org
 
World Languages Diane Bosilevac 
dbosilevac@kcpublicschools.org
 
Fine Arts and PE Dr. Adrianna Marshall
amarshall@kcpublicschools.org
 
Professional Learning Dr. Fatima Ferguson
fferguson@kcpublicschools.org
Joe Jarrett
sjarrett@kcpublicschools.org
Reading Intervention Raya Rivers
rrivers@kcpublicschools.org
 

Department Leaders

Dr. Phillips Jones Interim Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Phillips Jones

Interim Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction

Erin Dorsey Interim Director of Curriculum & Instruction

Erin Dorsey

Interim Director of Curriculum & Instruction

Board of Education