Skip To Main Content
KCPS NEWS
a group of smiling people holds a giant cardboard key in a green painted classroom

Congratulations are in order for Mr. Kevin Hogan! Last week, Mr. Hogan was randomly chosen to win a free two-year lease at Two Light Luxury Apartments as a part of the Kansas City Power & Light District partnership with KCPSEF.

a graphic design of a school hallway. people are getting healthcare.

With cold and flu season upon us, KCPS has many resources for keeping your family healthy this fall. Remember, if your child is ill, please do not send them to school.

A smiling, white-haired woman in a white cardigan wearing glasses.

Our KCPS celebration of Hispanic Heritage month wraps up today with a remembrance of Lali Garcia, a local activist who founded Kansas City’s La Raza political club.

A photo of a smiling man in a green and yellow varsity jacket and cap.

Our KCPS celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month continues with stories of those who have made a difference in our community. Today, we remember Tony Aguirre, a beloved Kansas City coach and mentor.

a graphic with photos of people at community engagement events with the words community chats continuing the conversation

These recommendations are the culmination of years of engagement with students, staff and families. At its core, Blueprint 2030 is an academic vision for KCPS that gives students the experiences they deserve.

Curriculum, Instruction and Professional Development

Curriculum Coordinators

K-6 ELA Sara Hoenshell
shoenshe@kcpublicschools.org
Megan Mitchell
mmcweeney@kcpublicschools.org
Secondary ELA Chris Odam
codam@kcpublischools.org
 
Elementary Math Philomina Lawson
plawson@kcpublicschools.org
Dr. Stephen Tucker
stucker@kcpublicschools.org
Secondary Math Marcelina Lerios
mlerios@kcpublicschools.org
 
K-6  Science Nickalas Collins
ncollins@kcpublicschools.org
 
Secondary Science Jared Kastelein
jkasteleing@kcpublicschools.org
 
Secondary Social Studies Bonnie Shea
bshea@kcpublicschools.org
 
World Languages Diane Bosilevac
dbosilevac@kcpublicschools.org
 
Fine Arts and PE Dr. Adrianna Marshall
amarshall@kcpublicschools.org
 
Professional Learning Dr. Fatima Ferguson
fferguson@kcpublicschools.org
Joe Jarrett
sjarrett@kcpublicschools.org
K-12 Intervention Raya Rivers
rrivers@kcpublicschools.org
 
Federal Programs Andrew Larson
alarson@kcpublicschools.org
 

Department Leaders

LaTanya Franklin  Assistant Superintendent CIPD

LaTanya Franklin

Assistant Superintendent Curriculum, Instruction and Professional Development
lfranklin@kcpublicschools.org

Dr. Phillips Jones Interim Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Phillips Jones

Director of Secondary Curriculum & Instruction
pjones@kcpublicschools.org

Erin Dorsey Interim Director of Curriculum & Instruction

Erin Dorsey

Director of Elementary Curriculum & Instruction
edorsey@kcpublicschools.org

Becky Nace

Director of Professional Learning & Federal Programs
bnace@kcpublicschools.org

Board of Education