Skip To Main Content
a group of smiling people holds a giant cardboard key in a green painted classroom

Congratulations are in order for Mr. Kevin Hogan! Last week, Mr. Hogan was randomly chosen to win a free two-year lease at Two Light Luxury Apartments as a part of the Kansas City Power & Light District partnership with KCPSEF.

Congratulations to all the 2023 Teachers of the year

As we reach the end of the school year, we want to take a moment to acknowledge and congratulate all of the 2023 Teachers of the Year from each one of the schools of the KCPS District. These outstanding teachers have been selected for their dedication, passion, and commitment to their students and the education they provide. They are truly exemplary, and they reflect the quality of the teachers that we have in our district.

Teacher Of The Year 2023

Teachers are the heart of our educational system, and they play a critical role in shaping the future of our students and our community. They work tirelessly to inspire and motivate our students to achieve their full potential, and their hard work and dedication do not go unnoticed.

KCPS is looking forward to the future and will continue to prioritize the support and growth of our teachers. It is essential that we provide them with the resources and tools necessary to succeed in the classroom, as they play a vital role in preparing our students for success in college, career, and life.

Once again, congratulations to all of the 2023 Teachers of the Year.


We are so proud to have you as part of our KCPS family, and we look forward to continuing to work with you to ensure that every student in our district receives an exceptional education.


African-Centered College Preparatory Academy-Lower Campus

 Charles Golson

Banneker Elementary School

 Michele Abubakar

Border Star Montessori School

 Iten Bayoumy

Carver Dual Language School

 Patricia Cabral

Central High School

 Tracy Merritt

Central Middle School

 Lezlie Wofford 

East High School

 Justine Ngomsi

Faxon Elementary School

 Andrea Holtman

Foreign Language Academy

 Luz Duran

Garfield Elementary School

 Megan Green

George Melcher Elementary School  

 Tilden Trotter

Gladstone Elementary School

 "Janie" Elizabeth Taylor

Hale Cook Elementary School

 Kelsi Sneyd

Holliday Montessori School

 Monchelle Gordon

J.A. Rogers Elementary School

 Carly Overesch

James Elementary School

 Heather Alderman

John T. Hartman Elementary School

 Angela Flack

Kansas City Virtual Academy

 Jessica Nichols

Lincoln College Preparatory Academy

 Lauren Palmer

Lincoln Middle School

 Mark Bush 

Longfellow Elementary School

 Maddie Ebling

Manual Career and Technical Center

 Dean Gales

Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary School

 Sylvia Moshier

Northeast High School

 Ricky Maltiba

Northeast Middle School

 Laura Culp 

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts

 Megan Kempker

Phillis Wheatley Elementary School

 Jessica Berry

Pitcher Elementary School

 Kelsey Davis

Primitivo Garcia Elementary School 

 Sandra Holliday

Richardson Early Learning Community School 

 Ivory Lake 

Southeast High School

 Kimberly Matsen

Success Academy at Anderson

 Kaitlyn Crotty

Success Academy at Knotts

 Julia Arnold

Trailwoods Elementary School

 Katy Ehrhard

Troost Elementary School

 Danielle Doolin

Wendell Phillips Elementary School

 Reaundra Pauley

Whittier Elementary School

 Rebekah Wampler

Woodland Early Learning Community School

 Denise Taylor