Skip To Main Content
KCPS orchestra students perform at the KCPS Fine Arts Showcase on Thursday, April 28, 2022.

"In schools, children need to have a place of belonging. They need to know they're accepted. They have to find their niche, that thing they’re good at,” said KCPS Deputy Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Collier.

Five people stand in the KCPS boardroom. They are smiling as one receives an award.

At the Wednesday, March 9, 2022, Board of Education meeting, three KCPS employees were recognized as “Terrific Teammates” for their contributions to their school communities.

A banner showing smiling children with the words "Enroll now for fall!"

Current KCPS students will automatically “roll up” to the next grade, and no action is required from parents/guardians at this time. Please do not submit an application for new enrollment, as this will cause processing delays.

A graphic of students attending schools wearing masks.

With guidance from our trusted community health partners, the Kansas City Public Schools Board of Directors and administration agreed on Wednesday, March 9, 2022, to end our mask mandate, effective immediately.

students in a bright, colorful classroom work on computers

On Jan. 29, 2022, 42 students from East High School, Lincoln College Prep and Lincoln Middle School competed against students from four other districts and three charter schools in the 2022 PREP-KC Math Relays. KCPS won 41 of 98 awards!

Congratulations to our 2022 Teachers of the Year!

2022 KCPS Teacher of the Year logo

Kansas City Public Schools is proud to announce our school 2022 Teachers of the Year! Our teachers create learning environments where children flourish and grow. Every year, we ask students, parents, staff and our community to nominate exceptional educators for this honor. Schools/principals pick one deserving teacher to be recognized at our annual banquet. We will name this year's KCPS Teacher of the Year on Thursday, April 21, 2022.

Congratulations to all of our 2022 Teachers of the Year! We look forward to sharing your stories and pictures on our social channels over the next two weeks.


African-Centered College Preparatory Academy

Tiffany Martinez

Banneker Elementary School

Ashten Alli

Border Star Montessori School

Kenya Givens

Carver Dual Language School

Martha Martin

Central High School

Beverly Hill

Central Middle School

Lynne Boyer

East High School

Quinby Hunter

Faxon Elementary School

Lyndsey Stailey

Foreign Language Academy

Susan Martinez

Garfield Elementary School

Mikaela Casey-Keiser

George Melcher Elementary School

Elizabeth Moore

Gladstone Elementary School

Amy Brock

Hale Cook Elementary School

Jessica Olmedo

Holliday Montessori School

Tarwiyah Hazziez

J.A. Rogers Elementary School

Peggy Everist

James Elementary School

Cathey Dodd

John T. Hartman Elementary School

Karen Harton

Kansas City Virtual Academy (Elementary)

Tina Duvall

Kansas City Virtual Academy (Secondary)

Dave Laurence

Lincoln College Preparatory Academy

Elizabeth Fowler


Lincoln Middle School

Kayla McClellan

Longfellow Elementary School

Alexis Tigner

Manual Career and Technical Center

John Lopez

Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary School

Angela White

Northeast High School

Andrew Corrao

Northeast Middle School

Benjamin Jonte

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts

Jiaorong Cheng

Phillis Wheatley Elementary School

Hannah Arst

Pitcher Elementary School

Kasey Walker

Primitivo Garcia Elementary School

Carley Copto

Richardson Early Learning Community School

Tamara Coleman

Southeast High School

Kendrick Claxton

Success Academy at Anderson

LaDanya Johnson

Success Academy at Knotts

Lee Ann Jackson

Trailwoods Elementary School

Chelsey Lawrence

Troost Elementary School

Shavon Robinson

Wendell Phillips Elementary School

Angela Edwards

Whittier Elementary School

Nina Harris

Woodland Early Learning Community School

Jennifer Gilbert