Skip To Main Content
KCPS orchestra students perform at the KCPS Fine Arts Showcase on Thursday, April 28, 2022.

"In schools, children need to have a place of belonging. They need to know they're accepted. They have to find their niche, that thing they’re good at,” said KCPS Deputy Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Collier.

Five people stand in the KCPS boardroom. They are smiling as one receives an award.

At the Wednesday, March 9, 2022, Board of Education meeting, three KCPS employees were recognized as “Terrific Teammates” for their contributions to their school communities.

A banner showing smiling children with the words "Enroll now for fall!"

Current KCPS students will automatically “roll up” to the next grade, and no action is required from parents/guardians at this time. Please do not submit an application for new enrollment, as this will cause processing delays.

A graphic of students attending schools wearing masks.

With guidance from our trusted community health partners, the Kansas City Public Schools Board of Directors and administration agreed on Wednesday, March 9, 2022, to end our mask mandate, effective immediately.

students in a bright, colorful classroom work on computers

On Jan. 29, 2022, 42 students from East High School, Lincoln College Prep and Lincoln Middle School competed against students from four other districts and three charter schools in the 2022 PREP-KC Math Relays. KCPS won 41 of 98 awards!

Meet the KCPS 2022 Teacher of the Year Finalists!

KCPS teachers educate, encourage and empower our students every day. Today, we are excited to introduce the three finalists in our 2022 KCPS Teacher of the Year contest. We will be announcing the winner tonight at our awards banquet and tomorrow on social media!


Amy Brock is the 2022 Gladstone Teacher of the Year and one of three finalists for 2022 KCPS Teacher of the Year.

Gladstone Elementary

"One initiative I started at Gladstone Elementary is the Mexican Dance Group. I started by borrowing dresses and costumes from Garcia because a teacher there had them already. As years went along, I found it important for our school to have their own costumes, so I sewed costumes just for our building. At the start of each class, I talk with the students about their day, help with homework needs, and just really get to know them as the people they are."


Andrew Corrao is the 2022 Northeast High School Teacher of the Year and one of three finalists for 2022 KCPS Teacher of the Y

Northeast High School

"Over the summer, one of my district coordinators called me up and said, 'I really think that NEHS could use DECA.' At the time, I had no idea what DECA was, but I was excited at the opportunity to coach a competitive team. In high school I practically lived at school being a member of a ton of student organizations. I knew that I wanted to bring that to NEHS as I'm a big believer that extra-curriculars help grow a culture in a school."


Kayla McClellan is the 2022 Lincoln Middle School Teacher of the Year and one of three finalists for 2022 KCPS Teacher of the

Lincoln Middle School

"I am the ultimate hype woman for my students. I push back when they make great points and allow them to dig deeper to prove their point. I celebrate them tremendously when they do, and if they try to back down I encourage them to use the information they have already prepared. I let them know when I am proud of them, and I point out their strengths as often as possible. In my classroom, we are building the kind of country we want to have and can shape."



The purpose of the KCPS Teacher of the Year program is to recognize the contributions of classroom teachers and to honor, promote and celebrate excellence in the teaching profession. 

We received hundreds of nominations in our 2022 KCPS Teacher of the Year contest. From those nominations, principals helped select teachers to represent their schools in our district contest. We then invited these fantastic teachers to apply to represent our district as the 2022 KCPS Teacher of the Year.

Special thanks to this year's selection committee, Assistant Superintendent of School Leadership Lloyd Jackson, Director of Professional Learning Becky Nace and Behavioral Health Manager Travanna Alexander-Toney.