Return to Headlines

KCPS Honors Board of Directors

Board Recognition 1  

Kansas City, January 26, 2017:  Kansas City Public Schools honored the nine members of its Board of Directors for their public service during a meeting Wednesday evening, Jan. 25.

Board Recognition 2 As part of School Board Recognition Week, which is Jan. 22-28, each KCPS Board member received a work of pottery and a framed painting or photo created by students from across the school system. On behalf of himself and his staff, Superintendent Mark Bedell then expressed gratitude for their hard work on behalf of students and gave each Board member a certificate of appreciation.

“A lot of people really have no idea how many hours our Board members put in,” Dr. Bedell said. “This is a big job and we are blessed to have a Board that really cares about students and families.”

In Missouri, School Board Recognition Week is sponsored by the Missouri School Boards’ Association (MSBA) and officially proclaimed by the state governor.

The goal of the week is to build awareness and understanding of the important function an elected board of education plays in communities and schools, according to the MSBA. Members of the public are asked to recognize the important contributions of these men and women and focus attention on the vital role these public officials play in the education of Missouri’s children.

The KCPS Board of Directors includes:

  • Melissa Robinson – Chair and Sub-District 4
  • Pattie Mansur – Vice Chair and Member At Large
  • Matthew Oates – Treasurer and Sub-District 2
  • Natalie Lewis – Sub-District 1
  • John Fierro – Sub-District 3
  • Ajia Morris – Sub-District 5
  • Carl Evans – Sub-District 6
  • Amy Hartsfield – Member At Large
  • Jennifer Wolfsie – Member At Large

Learn more about the KCPS Board of Directors, including contact information and biographies, by visiting


Click here to read more KCPS Headlines.